Vegan Bodybuilding Forum
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.
Vegan Bodybuilding Forum

The Forum of www.veganbodybuilding.org

HomeHome  Latest imagesLatest images  SearchSearch  RegisterRegister  Log in  
This board is closing down - we are moving to a new permanent home at http://www.veganbodybuilding.org/forum/

question about progress.

Go down 
2 posters
AuthorMessage
tjonmc

question about progress. Empty
PostSubject: question about progress.   question about progress. EmptyMon Apr 04, 2011 1:52 pm

I'm Very new to weight training. I've been lifting for about 2.5 months. I'm nothing to look at and I can't lift much, but I hope that changes. I'm 6' 175-180 pounds roughly.

I was just wondering on average how quickly do people start adding weight to their lifts? So far I've only progressed by 5-10 pounds on all of my lifts. Is this average? Am I worrying about this sort of thing far too soon? ( I just hate wasting time)

thanks in advance for any replies I might get.
Back to top Go down
Pete
Admin
Pete

PostSubject: Re: question about progress.   question about progress. EmptyTue Apr 05, 2011 5:40 am

Everyone is different. Basically the idea is get perfect at all the sets & reps then move up. It's hard to give an exact figure as it depends upon competence & exercises chosen.
So 10 pounds on squat wouldn't relate to 10 pounds on a dumbbell kickback for example, also on how many reps & sets you're doing effect results.

My advice is to focus on form, aim at getting perfect reps, once you get all your reps & sets perfect go up a few pounds, then repeat. As you are a beginner you won't need to cycle your training or anything, just head up slowly, keeping the form tight.