Vegan Bodybuilding Forum
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.
Vegan Bodybuilding Forum

The Forum of www.veganbodybuilding.org

HomeHome  Latest imagesLatest images  SearchSearch  RegisterRegister  Log in  
This board is closing down - we are moving to a new permanent home at http://www.veganbodybuilding.org/forum/

Vegan Bodybuilding Convert

Go down 
3 posters
AuthorMessage
sandra

sandra

Vegan Bodybuilding Convert Empty
PostSubject: Vegan Bodybuilding Convert   Vegan Bodybuilding Convert EmptyFri May 28, 2010 2:51 pm

Hello Everyone. I am 40 years old and I started lifting weights when I was 18, and have been lifting consistently since I was 21. I was a Powerlifter and vegetarian in my 20's. In my 30's, some friends persuaded me to enter my first bodybuilding competition. None of us knew anything about being a vegetarian and competing; there was some information out there but not a lot and my friends and fellow bodybuilders were all omnivores and so I acquiesced and started eating fish. I cannot even begin to tell you how much fish (mostly Tuna) and how many egg whites I ate for that first competition.

Well, needless to say I got very bored with that diet and could not eat it any more of it. And as my love of the sport of bodybuilding grew, so did my meat consumption and I threw out my vegetarian diet completely. I stopped bodybuilding to go to graduate school but continued to lift and eat meat. I continued my weightlifting regimen and I was working as a personal trainer and over the course of a few years my healthy diet deteriorated and I gained 30 pounds. I new I needed a change and I wanted to go back to being a vegetarian but for some reason I didn't.